Carrot cake in to die for cupcake form with cream cheese frosting

Last weekend, right in time for Easter, I got a small craving for some carrot cake. I’m a little particular when it comes to my carrot cake and took it upon myself to find a recipe that was just perfect for me. Aka, no nuts or fancy business.

I found this recipe from Pinch of Yum for carrot cake cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. Talk about to die for!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups sifted flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups grated raw carrots
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/3 cups vegetable oil
  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/4 lb. butter
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 lb. powdered sugar

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix dry ingredients and oil with carrots. Add one egg at a time and beat well after each egg.
  2. Bake for 50 minutes in a 9Ɨ13 inch pan. Let cool completely. (For cupcakes, half the recipe and pour batter into greased or lined muffin tins. Fill about 3/4 of the way to the top and bake for about 12-15 minutes, or until tops have popped and spring back when you touch them.)
  3. Beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla until creamy. Add powdered sugar. Spread frosting over cooled cake.
I couldn’t wait and put some of the frosting on a cupcake while it was still warm. Let me tell you, amazing! I think I’ve found my new favorite dessert recipe. Not only was it delicious, the recipe itself was really quite easy. Especially for someone that’s a beginner baker. Grating the carrots was the hardest part.
Everyone needs to try these! I’m in love.
xo
Leave a comment

Filed under food, recipes

Leave a Reply

