DIY Printed Fabric

I’m sure all of us have seen fabric we’ve mildly obsessed over and tried our hardest to come up with a project suitable for it. Perhaps it’s just me, but I’m always on the lookout for the next pillow inspiration, or even the next textile to wrap lovingly around a pot. With fabric, the possibilities are seemingly endless.

Guess what type of project could make those possibilities even more endless? Printing your own fabric! I have always been very intimidated at the thought of screen printing, but still have an intense desire to want to make my own lovely little fabric creations. After putting together a few DIY’s I found on the web, I came up with my own printed fabric.

Supplies:

  • Fabric paint
  • Fabric
  • Fabric markers
  • Linoleum block
  • Speedball linoleum cutter
  • Tape
  • A piece of cardboard
  • Paintbrush

Directions:

1. I don’t have this step photographed, so try and follow with me šŸ™‚Ā  You want to take your linoleum block, draw out the pattern you want on the fabric, and start cutting into it. For mine I made a triangle, with several lines in the middle of it. You want to remember whatever you cut away isn’t going to show up on the print itself.

2. Take the fabric you have and tape it down to a flat surface. I taped down some scrap paper underneath it just in case anything ran through the fabric.

3. Here you could either make your own stamp pad, or pour out some of the fabric paint onto a piece of cardboard. I chose to do the second. I took my paintbrush and made a thin layer of the fabric paint on the cardboard so I could stamp my stamp onto it and get an even layer of paint.

4. Start stamping! I picked a random pattern and just went with it.

5. Once I finished my stamps of triangles, I let them dry for a little while. Taking my fabric markers (which are by far my new favorite things ever!) I drew black lines, and colored in different pieces of each triangle. Essentially, making a pattern.

6. (I still have to do this step, its hard not having an iron!) Iron your fabric and you’re done!

I think I’m going to have a lot of fun coming up with more stamps to use on fabric. This particular fabric may just end up as one of my first sewing machine projects. A sunglass holder? Yes please.

xo

1 Comment

Filed under crafts, DIY

One response to “DIY Printed Fabric

  1. Hey….you done such a beautiful and creative work with fabric. The stamps of triangle is looking awesome. Thanks for sharing your creative idea and work….

    Thanks a lot….!!

Leave a Reply

