DIY Heart Shaped Mini Candles

I’ve come to the conclusion after my week long Valentines Day DIY’s, that this one is my favorite. Yesterday’s was a close second, but this one takes the cake. Even if it was just a little bit messy.

If you missed my other DIY’s this week, here’s a little recap for you.

Last Saturday I had handmade Valentines Day cards.
Monday I posted some great Vday inspired nail art.
TuesdayDIY sculpey heart bracelet.
Wednesday Framed paint sample artwork – Hearts!
Thursday – some really yummy Valentines Day recipes and food ideas
FridaySweets for Fido, homemade dog treats
SaturdayDIY felt heart on a stick

It’s been a really great run this week, and I’m feeling more inspired than ever. I’ll be going back to my DIY Saturday posts next weekend, and already have some great projects and ideas coming your way. So be on the look out!

Now, on to today’s DIY! Mini heart shaped candles!

Supplies:

  • Heart shape molds (I used small heart shaped chocolate making molds)
  • Double boiler (pictures below, I used a boiling pot of water and a small glass dish)
  • Wick
  • Red beeswax
  • Scissors
  • A spoon you don’t mind getting covered in wax

Directions:

1. First things first. You’re going to need to bring the water to a boil, with the small glass dish in the middle of it. While it’s starting to reach boiling, cut up pieces of the red beeswax (or use regular beeswax and dye it. I found a roll of red beeswax at my local craft store) and put it in the glass dish.

2. Once the water starts to boil, but the lid ontop of the pot and wait close to 5 minutes, or until the beeswax is melted. Keep an eye on it!

3. While waiting for the wax to melt, take your wick and cut off small pieces of it. I made my wicks a little bit longer so I could cut them down if need be.

4. By now the beeswax should be all melted. Turn off the heat. To make the next part a little easy I dumped out a lot of the water in the pot. Be very careful not to dump out any of the melted wax, nor get any water in the wax itself!

5. You’re going to have to work quickly at this part. Using your spoon, fill up the molds. My molds were small enough it only took 1 1/2 spoonfuls for each, but I still had to work quick enough not to let the wax start to solidify in the molds.

6. Taking your wicks, stick them into the middle of the hearts, or even angled upwards coming out of the top. I pushed the wicks into the bottom far enough that they warmed up just enough to stay put without any help while it cooled.

Place them in a safe place to cool down and now you’ve got some adorable miniature candles.

A few words on cleanup. I found re-boiling the water with the glass dish inside helped to break up all the dried on wax. Even on the spoon, I put it in the glass dish to boil as well. Once all the wax is melted and mixing in with the water, pour it out. Any left over wax (which should be very little) wash it in hot water while the wax is still warm itself.

I can’t give away what my plan is for these little gems, but you could use them for cupcake toppers, cute accents for a romantic dinner, or even put them on top of a nicely wrapped present. I love possibilities!

xo

3 Comments

Filed under crafts, DIY

3 responses to “DIY Heart Shaped Mini Candles

  1. These are very cute, do they float on water? They would make a pretty centrepiece on a bowl of water that has bits of glitter and/or flowers in…

  2. Pingback: Kh’s Vday Diorama | Marie, Oh Marie

Leave a Reply

