DIY Saturday: Mason Jar Fabric Pin Cushions

I love a craft that involves a mason jar. I believe in general, I just love a mason jar. I always have to hold myself back from buying a dozen of them every time I’m in a store that sells them. Although I’d easily find a use for all of them, I’m not sure others would appreciate my apartment being filled with mason jars.

After finding this great tutorial over at MomtasticDIY Mason Jar Sewing Kit, I just had to give it a go myself. She does an amazing job at having step by step photos and instructions. It was really quite an easy project.

Supplies:

  • Mason Jar
  • Hot glue gun
  • Pieces of fabric
  • Stuffing
  • Scissors
  • Pencil

Directions:

1. Take the piece of fabric and lay the mason jar lid bottom side up on top of it. Trace a circle at least twice as wide as the lid itself, to give it enough room to be stuffed full of fabric and glued on the underside. I found .25¢ square fabric sheets at my local craft store. I couldn’t resist and stocked up.

2. From step 1, take your glue gun and run a line of glue all around the edge of the lid, except for a small spot which will be used to stuff the stuffing  in. Once glue is all around, fold the fabric up and onto the glue. I found triangle shaped folds worked best. Be careful not to burn yourself or to over glue the edges! I at first put too much glue and it made it difficult to screw on the lid afterwards.

3. Begin putting the stuffing into the hole you have left open. Once you have your desired amount of “fluff”, glue up the last remainder of the fabric.

4. Take the metal rim from the top of the mason jar, run a line of glue along the inside, and pop the jar lid back inside of it. Be careful again not to over glue it. Hold for several seconds, and you are finished!

I put the beginning of my button collection in one, and my DIY pom poms in another. I’m still working out what is going to grace my third jar.

xo

 

2 Comments

Filed under crafts, DIY

2 responses to “DIY Saturday: Mason Jar Fabric Pin Cushions

  1. Pingback: Crafting for mothers day, a double roundup | Marie, Oh Marie

  2. Pingback: coffee talk #3 «

Leave a Reply

