Handmade Gift Tag DIY

On my fifth and final DIY for the week I bring you handmade gift tags! I don’t know about you, but after I get over the hurdle of trying to wrap a present, I then panic and forget completely about the gift tag. I’ve been known to throw a piece of tape on the present, write a little to, and sign a little from. Bam, I’m done!

Ok, so it’s never been the most creative approach to gift giving. This year I planned, plotted, and carried out my solution to gift taglessness.


Materials:

  • Paper bag
  • Red marker
  • Black marker
  • A circle/gift tag shape to trace
  • Scissors
  • Hole punch
  • Card stock

First thing – I cut open a paper bag, and traced circles all over the bag. I just used the top of an Advil bottle, but more refined tools would work just as well.

I used the gift tag shape and traced it onto several pieces of card stock. You can get this at a craft store, Papersource, just about anywhere. I recycled some old cards I had laying around.

Now cut them all out.

Once I got to this point, I started focusing my attention more on the card stock. I took a pencil and rough sketched a snowflake, or a few onto the card stock.

I didn’t use a ruler or be overly precise. I liked the way they came out in more of a hand drawn way. Every snowflake is different.

I then took my black marker and traced the pencil marks, and added in a few diamond shapes, dots, dotted lines..

Don’t worry about being precise. The hand drawn imperfections really add to the handmade aspect of these.

I punched a hole in the tops of each gift tag (which was no easy accomplishment! card stock did not get along well with my $1 hole punch), wrote To and From on the back, and tah-done!

I’ll be finishing these off with some baling twine or even some red ribbon.

I hope you enjoyed my week of Holiday DIY’s! I’ll be posting a new DIY every week starting this new year. So be sure to stop back.

Happy Holidays!

xo

1 Comment

Filed under art, crafts, DIY, holiday, life

One response to “Handmade Gift Tag DIY

  1. Pingback: What’s Up This Weekend | Marie, Oh Marie

Leave a Reply

